Choose the NRA Basic Pistol Permit Class that fits your schedule.

Get the official training required by the state of Connecticut to obtain your pistol permit.
Learn about pistols, ammunition types, operations, proper handling, cleaning, and shooting.
All equipment is provided.
Choose the class type that best fits your busy schedule.
nra certificates
agsss background circle

How to choose which pistol permit class to take

At A Great Start Shooting School, we understand the need for flexibility. That is why we offer a variety of class formats that range in terms of privacy, length, date selection, classroom setting, and more. Check out the comparison chart below to see which class best fits your needs, or scroll down to get a detailed look at what each pistol permit course offers.

Public
Group
Private
Group
Online
Hybrid
One-on-One Training
Books and Firearms
Safety equipment supplied
Firearms and ammo supplied
permit application checklist & certificate
in-person range time
Small Group
lunch included
a single day
one-on-one range time
Flexible date of your choosing
$150
$150
$150
$250
agsss background circle

Private 1-on-1 Pistol Permit Class

$250

Choose the days that work for you to do your Connecticut Pistol Permit training and qualify for your CT gun license from A Great Start Shooting School.

As a private student, you will schedule two one-on-one sessions. Both are included in the price.

Your first 4 hour session will include the classroom portion of your training and cover firearm safety, how to load and unload a gun, cleaning instructions, and safe storage. You will also complete your written test during our first session together. 

At the end of this class, we will schedule a 90 minute appointment for your live fire portion.

What You’ll Get:

Books and classroom materials
CT pistol permit application certificate
CT pistol permit application checklist
Two training sessions
Training from a certified female firearms instructor
Safety equipment, firearms, and ammo at the range
Private 1-on-1 instruction that allows us to go at your pace
One-on-one, in-person range time with no distractions from other shooters.
Flexible date of your choosing
agsss background circle

Public Group Pistol Permit Class

$150/person
4 people max

Get your Connecticut Pistol Permit training in this one-day class in a small intimate group of four people at A Great Start Shooting School.

Learn firearm safety, how to load and unload a gun, cleaning instructions, safe storage, and more in the classroom. Complete your written test 

Then, practice shooting on a private range to apply what we learned in the classroom. Generally, this class is held on Sundays from 9 am to 5 pm.

What You’ll Get:

Books and classroom materials
CT pistol permit application checklist
CT pistol permit application certificate
One training session
Training from a female firearms instructor
Safety equipment, firearms, and ammo at the range
Private range time with no distractions
Small group instruction so you get individual attention
Lunch provided at no additional cost
agsss background circle

Hybrid Pistol Permit Class (Online Classroom)

$150/person
8 people max

Getting time away from home can be a challenge, so take the classroom portion of your pistol permit course online. The virtual training is available Wednesday nights from 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm. After you sign up, the material for the class will be mailed to you. 

This is a very interactive class so you will need to be on a tablet or full screen of some sort. We ask that you do not take this class from a cell phone.

Learn firearm safety, how to load and unload a gun, cleaning instructions, and safe storage in our classroom portion. 

After completing the exam, schedule 90 minutes at our private range to practice the shooting portion of your pistol permit.

What You’ll Get:

Books and classroom materials
CT pistol permit application checklist
CT pistol permit application certificate
Two training session
Safety equipment, firearms, and ammo at the range
Private range time with no distractions
Online instruction from the convenience of your own home
Training from a female firearms instructor
agsss background circle

Private Group Pistol Permit Class

$150/person
4 to 6 people

Get your Connecticut Pistol Permit training in a private group setting for you and 4 to 6 of your friends at A Great Start Shooting School.

Learn firearm safety, how to load and unload a gun, cleaning instructions, safe storage, and more in the classroom. Complete your written test 

Then, practice shooting on a private range to apply what we learned in the classroom.

What You’ll Get:

Books and classroom materials
CT pistol permit application checklist
CT pistol permit application certificate
One training session
Training from a female firearms instructor
Flexible date of your choosing
Safety equipment, firearms, and ammo at the range
Private range time with no distractions
Private in-person instruction at the most convenient time for your group
Lunch provided at no additional cost
A small group of your choosing
agsss background circle

Frequently Asked Questions

There are a few things you will need to bring and a few things you won't need to worry about. The most important thing you can bring is curiosity and a desire to learn something new. Here’s what else you’ll need for class:

  1. After you choose a time slot, you'll be sent documents to sign electronically. It only takes a few minutes to finish. Please make sure this is complete prior to coming to class! Otherwise, you'll lose 15 minutes of class time filling out physical paperwork first thing.
  2. The classroom portion is four hours long and is lecture, question, and answer-based. If you're an online student this will be done online. Drinks and snacks are welcome in the classroom online and off.

    For online students you can take the classroom portion of your pistol permit class from wherever is convenient for you. Please note this does require your attention and participation so be prepared to interact with the class.

A lot of my students think you need to bring a gun or special gear to class, but you don't. I provide all of the equipment you need for the live fire portion of the class. This includes firearms, ammo, and eye and ear protection.

If you're an online student you'll be sent a calendar to schedule 90 minutes for your live fire portion of the class. This will be done in person on the private range at A Great Start Shooting School

After you've completed your pistol permit class, the next best class to take is the introduction to gun handling and shooting class, or get private coaching with 1-on-1 firearm training.

That said, you will meet the minimum requirements for a CT pistol permit with just one class. The Connecticut State website specifies that you must take the “NRA Basic Pistol Course” from a CT-approved firearms instructor before you can get your pistol permit. This course meets both of those requirements.

This class covers four hours of classroom time in which you will learn about firearms, and then 90 minutes of range time using firearms to satisfy the Connecticut State requirement for all pistol permit holders to demonstrate competence with a firearm.

Private pistol permit groups require a minimum of 4 people with a cap of 6 total participants. You can pay individually or all together.

I'll send you a special calendar to schedule a time that works best for your group. Once you've scheduled the class time, each person will need to register with their name, phone number, email, and birthday.

Each participant will then be sent paperwork to fill out before class and an option to pay for themselves if the group members choose to pay individually.

The CT pistol permit application costs $80, but that's not the only fee.

Along with the Connecticut State pistol permit requirements, each town may have additional requirements so please make sure to check with your town hall or police department for those details.

For the state requirements, you must first take a class like this one to demonstrate competence with a firearm ($250 for private 1-on-1 students, $150 per person for group classes).

Other known costs as of Jan 2022 include:

  • Permit Safety Class $99-$350
  • Firearms Safety Course & Certificate (Cost Generally $99 - $350) 
  • Notary Public =  $0 - $25 - Most banks have one on hand and will do it for free if you have an account there.
  • Criminal History Check. Current cost = $75
  • State of CT Criminal History Background Check = $75
  • Federal Criminal Background Check = $13.95 
  • Fingerprinting $25

First, you have to meet a few basic requirements:

  • You must be older than 21
  • You must be a legal resident of the United States
  • You must not have a felony or any of these 11 misdemeanors
  • You must not have been in a psychiatric hospital in the last year
  • You must not have been found guilty due to mental defect in the last 20 years

You then must complete a handgun safety course and practice live firing a gun. The pistol permit class offered by A Great Start Shooting School covers those requirements.

BUT, after you finish this class, you will not have your pistol permit yet!

You still need to pass a criminal background check, submit a photograph of yourself, and get your fingerprints taken. You also have to show that you're in the United States legally.

After you've filed your application, the wait time for your Connecticut pistol permit is eight weeks. Within that eight-week period, the State will either approve or deny your application.

Remember, each town or city may have additional requirements in addition to the minimum requirements set by the State of Connecticut.

It takes up to eight weeks from the time you submit your application for a CT pistol permit to get your gun license.

This class is one of many requirements for getting your permit. The classroom portion for this NRA basic pistol course generally lasts four hours and covers all basic handgun training. The live-fire portion of the class lasts roughly 90 minutes. (Please note that the live-fire portion may be longer for larger classes.)

You should also consider the time it will take to satisfy other requirements such as gathering documentation and getting fingerprinted... which is exactly why you should schedule the class right away. The fewer delays in getting your pistol permit the better.

Most people who want to get their pistol permit in Connecticut will go to the state website first. There is a TON of information there. For example, you can learn about the difference between an Eligibility Certificate and a Pistol Permit (FYI, I always suggest the permit because it covers everything). You can also look at factors that would keep you from qualifying for the permit.

However, where you really want to start is in your town or city. You need to go to your police department or town hall and ask for the Pistol Permit Package. You can call them as well to find out how to get the package. Some towns, like Torrington CT, have all the details on their website. 

Your town's pistol permit package will walk you through what your town requires. Then, schedule your appointment for a new pistol permit. You can click here to see where to go to get your CT pistol permit.

If you've already had a pistol permit in the past that expired, you can usually renew by mail. Check the requirements for pistol permit renewals here.

The Process for a CT Pistol Permit

  1. Apply in your town for a 60 day temporary State Pistol Permit ← Click to see the form

To submit this you will need:

  • Firearms Safety Course & Certificate (Cost Generally $99 - $350) 
  • Proof you are legally in the U.S.
  • Criminal history Check - Current cost $75
  • Federal Criminal Background Check - $13.95 
  • State of CT Criminal History Background Check - $75
  • Fingerprinting $25
  • Some towns require more so this is why you need to start in your town or city so you know what you are in for.
  1. Once you submit this to your town… now you get to wait. According to the state statues the town has 8 weeks to turn your application around.  Some towns turn it around faster, others take longer. When you turn in your application, you should ask for some sort of receipt and ask who you can follow up with, if it takes longer than 8 weeks.

Once your town issues you your 60 day temporary permit, you have 60 days to bring that to DESPP with your $70 money order to get your 5 year pistol permit. Smile you will be getting your picture taken that day. There are a few places in CT that you can get your state permit. The most popular is 111 Country Club Road, Middletown CT because you can just walk in.  All other barracks require an appointment. Check here for any updates as far as needing an appointment and locations.

Your pistol permit is good for five years.

After that, you will need to renew your permit. The requirements for pistol permit renewals are different than those for first-time permit applications. You can review the requirements here.

I'm happy to help answer any other questions you have.

Feel free to schedule a 10-minute call so we can talk about what you need and how A Great Start Shooting School can help you.

Get updates on upcoming classes & availability!
Tell us where to keep in touch
Name*

A Great Start Shooting School Logo
A Great Start Shooting School offers pistol permit and firearm training classes custom fit, just for you.
© 2020-2022 A Great Start Shooting School. All Rights Reserved.